Argentina - Player of the Year

Elected by the "Círculo de Periodistas Deportivos" (Association of Sports Journalists), who chose the best sporter in many sports. The official name of the award is "Olimpia de Plata"; therefore there is a winner for every sport. The best sporter of the year wins the "Olimpia de Oro".

It is not clear since when foreign players from the Argentinian League as well as Argentinian players from foreign clubs became eligible.

List of Winners

Year   Player (Club)             
1970   Héctor YAZALDE  (Independiente)
1971   José Omar PASTORIZA  (Independiente)
1972   Angel Hugo BARGAS  (Chacarita Juniors)
1973   Miguel Angel BRINDISI  (Huracán)
1974   Miguel Angel RAIMONDO  (Independiente)
1975   Héctor Horacio SCOTTA  (San Lorenzo)
1976   Daniel PASSARELLA  (River Plate)
1977   Ubaldo FILLOL  (River Plate)
1978   Mario Alberto KEMPES  (Valencia CF [Spa])
1979   Diego Armando MARADONA  (Argentinos Juniors)         [*]
1980   Diego Armando MARADONA  (Argentinos Juniors)
1981   Diego Armando MARADONA  (Boca Juniors)
1982   Hugo Orlando GATTI  (Boca Juniors)
1983   Ricardo BOCHINI  (Independiente)
1984   Alberto MARCICO  (Ferrocarril Oeste)
1985   Enzo FRANCESCOLI (Uru)  (River Plate)
1986   Diego Armando MARADONA  (Napoli [Ita])               [*]
1987   Néstor FABBRI  (Racing Club)
1988   Rubén PAZ (Uru)  (Racing Club)
1989   Carlos ALFARO MORENO  (Independiente)
1990   Sergio GOYCOCHEA  (Millonarios [Col] / Racing Club)
1991   Oscar RUGGERI  (Vélez Sarsfield)                     [*]
1992   Luis ISLAS  (Independiente)
1993   Ramón MEDINA BELLO  (River Plate)
1994   Carlos NAVARRO MONTOYA  (Boca Juniors)
1995   Enzo FRANCESCOLI (Uru)  (River Plate)
1996   José Luis CHILAVERT (Par)  (Vélez Sarsfield)
1997   Marcelo SALAS (Chi)  (River Plate)
1998   Gabriel BATISTUTA  (Fiorentina [Ita])
1999   Javier SAVIOLA  (River Plate)
2000   Juan Román RIQUELME  (Boca Juniors)
2001   Juan Román RIQUELME  (Boca Juniors)
2002   Gabriel MILITO  (Independiente) 
2003   Carlos TEVEZ  (Boca Juniors)
2004   Carlos TEVEZ  (Boca Juniors)                         [*]
2005   Lionel MESSI  (Barcelona [Spa])
2006   Juan Sebastián VERÓN  (Estudiantes de La Plata)
2007   Lionel MESSI  (Barcelona [Spa])
2008   Juan Román RIQUELME  (Boca Juniors)

1. Unless otherwise stated all players and clubs are Argentinian.
2. Players with [*] also won the “Olimpia de Oro” award on the same year. 


About this document

Prepared and maintained by José Luis Pierrend for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: José Luis Pierrend (
Last updated: 16 Jan 2009

(C) Copyright José Luis Pierrend and RSSSF 2001/09
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.