Coupe d'Afrique Equatoriale Française

Tournament for the former French Equatorial African territories. This area comprised the current states of the Central African Republic (then Oubangui-Chari), Chad (Tchad), Congo-Brazzaville (then Moyen Congo) and Gabon. It apparently was played on only one occasion.

A similar (and much better documented) tournament was organised for French Western Africa between 1947 and 1960.


Ed. Year    Winners                         Runners-Up
Coupe d'Afrique Equatoriale Française
 1  1958/59 Diables Noirs (Brazzaville) 9-3 AS Tempête Mocaf (Bangui)


Known Participants:
Abeilles FC (Libreville)
Diables Noirs (Brazzaville)
AS Tempête Mocaf (Bangui)


First Legs
Diables Noirs (Brazzaville) 6-2 Abeilles FC (Libreville)

Second Legs
Abeilles FC (Libreville)    1-7 Diables Noirs (Brazzaville)

NB: AS Tempête Mocaf presumably eliminated the (unidentified) representatives from Chad
    in a parallel semifinal

Final [Jan 4, 1959; stade Eboué, Brazzaville]
Diables Noirs (Brazzaville) 9-3 AS Tempête Mocaf (Bangui)

About this document

Sources: La Semaine Africaine no. 2748 (30 Nov 2007), p. 11,

Further information is warmly welcomed by the authors.

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl and Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Hans Schöggl and Karel Stokkermans (
Last updated: 20 Feb 2014

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl, Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 2010/14
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.