Antigua and Barbuda - List of Champions

1962      Arsenal                          [*1]
1963-66     not known                      [*1]
1967      Pan Am Jets                      [*1]
1968        not awarded                    [*2]
1969/70   Empire (Gray's Farm)
1970      Empire (Gray's Farm)
1971      Empire (Gray's Farm)
1972      Empire (Gray's Farm)
1973      Empire (Gray's Farm)
1974/75   Empire (Gray's Farm)             [*3]
1975/76   Supa Stars
1976/77   Supa Stars
1977/78   Five Islands
1978/79   Empire (Gray's Farm)
1979-82     not known 
1983      Lion Hill Spliff FC (St. John's) [*4]
1983/84   Villa Lions FC (St. John's)
1984/85   Liberta FC
1985/86   Villa Lions FC (St. John's)
1986/87   Liberta FC
1987/88   Empire (Gray's Farm)
1988/89     not known 
1989/90   J and J Construction (Parham)
1990/91     not known     
1991/92   Empire (Gray's Farm)
1992/93     not known
1993/94   Lion Hill Spliff FC (St. John's)
1994/95   English Harbour
1995/96   English Harbour
1996/97   English Harbour
1997/98   Empire (Gray's Farm)
1998/99   Empire (Gray's Farm)
1999/00   Empire (Gray's Farm)
2000/01   Empire (Gray's Farm)  
2001/02   Parham FC 
2002/03   Parham FC
2003/04   Bassa FC (All Saint's) 
2004/05   Bassa FC (All Saint's) 
2005/06   SAP (Bolans)
2006/07   Bassa FC (All Saint's) 
2007/08   Bassa FC (All Saint's) 
2008/09   SAP (Bolans)
2009/10   Bassa FC (All Saint's) 
2010/11   Parham FC 
2011/12   Old Road
2012/13   Old Road
2013/14   SAP (Bolans)
2014/15   Parham FC 

Total Number of Titles (where known)

13 Empire (Gray's Farm) [all listed above]                 [*5]

 5 Bassa FC (All Saint's) [all listed above]
   Five Islands [4 seasons not known]
   Parham FC (includes J and J Construction) 

 4 Lion Hill Spliff [2 seasons not known]

 3 SAP (Bolans) [all listed above]                         [*6]

 2 Old Road [all listed above]        

other clubs to have won championships
   English Harbour (at least 3, see above)
   Liberta FC (at least 2, see above)                      [*7]
   Pan Am Jets (includes Arsenal) (at least 2, see above)  [*1]
   Supa Stars (at least 2, see above)
   Villa Lions FC (at least 2, see above)    
   Urlings (at least 1; aka Golden Stars)

NB: Hoppers FC (Green Bay, founded 1969) never won the league
    (up to and including the 2014/15 season)

[*1] Arsenal renamed Pan Am Jets between 1962 and 1965; in 1962
     Arsenal won the league ahead of Atomic and Empire; Empire had
     beaten Atomic 2-1 in their first ever top level match that
     season (see note [*5]); Empire finished 4th in 1964 
[*2] league ended in a 3-way tie between Antigua Sugar Factory
     (A.S.F.), Rangers (from Church Lane) and Empire, with Empire
     having the best goal record; after a playoff between the 
     three teams ended in another dead-heat, Rangers refused to 
     play Empire in a second playoff and the title was not awarded  
[*3] in 1974/75 Empire won the league-and-cup double, the first
     club on Antigua to achieve this feat
[*4] Empire finished runners-up 1983, losing out to Lion Hill Spliff
     on goal difference
[*5] Empire's 13 titles are the record for Antigua; Empire were
     formed in 1962 when the existing club Realto Sports Club 
     (founded in the 1950s) changed name to Empire (after the
     Empire Grocery "on the Bridge"); they were first relegated in
     1984 but immediately returned after winning promotion in 1985
[*6] SAP abbreviates Spirit, Attitude & Performance; the club
     won the First Division on two occasions as well (1989/90
     and 1997/98) and two FA Cups (2004/05 and 2008/09)
[*7] the club called Liberta FC which won two championships in
     the late 1980s are apparently not related to the current
     Liberta SC which were founded on Jan 29, 1991

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 8 Oct 2015

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 1997/2015
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.