Argentina - Third Level Champions


. This list includes the third LEVEL champions.
  Please, do not confuse with the Third Division or Primera C,
  because the name of the third level changed several times.

. AAF: Asociación Argentina de Football.
  AAm: Asociación Amateurs de Football.
  FAF: Federación Argentina de Football.
  LAF: Liga Argentina de Football.

. III: It is the third team from this club.
       (If the I and II team played in first and second level).

. II:  It is the second team from this club.
       (If the I team played in the second level).

. "A", "B" or "C". The club played with several teams in this level during this

Tercera División [Third Division] (1900 - 1910)

1900         English High School III
1901         Alumni III                          (Former English High School).
1902         Lomas Juniors
1903         Atlético Estudiantes III "C"               
1904         Atlético Estudiantes III "B"    
1905         Alumni III
1906         Gimnasia y Esgrima Buenos Aires
1907         Atlanta "A"
1908         Banfield "A"
1909         Ferro Carril Oeste II (Buenos Aires)
1910         Instituto Americano (Adrogué)

In 1911 a new national second level league was introduced: "Intermedia". The "Segunda División" continued as the third level league and the "Tercera División" as the fourth level.

Segunda División [Second Division] (1911 - 1926)

1911         Riachuelo "B"
1912   AAF   Banfield
       FAF   Tigre
1913   AAF   Ferro Carril Oeste III (Buenos Aires)
       FAF   Estudiantes III (La PLata)
1914   AAF   San Lorenzo de Almagro
       FAF   Tigre Juniors
1915         Martínez
1916         Huracán III (Buenos Aires)
1917         Sportivo Palermo
1918         San Fernando
1919   AAF   El Porvenir
       AAm   Sportivo Barracas III
1920   AAF   Sportivo Avellaneda
       AAm   Oriente del Sud
1921   AAF   Huracán III (Buenos Aires)
       AAm   Villa Crespo
1922   AAF   Central Argentino
       AAm   Nacional FC
1923   AAF   Bristol
       AAm   Acassuso
1924   AAF   Leandro N. Alem
       AAm   Racing Club III
1925   AAF   Sportivo Balcarce II
       AAm   Perla del Plata
1926   AAF   Libertad
       AAm   Racing Club III

In 1927 a new national second level league was introduced: "Primera División B". The "División Intermedia" continued as the third level league and the "Segunda División" as the fourth.

División Intermedia [Intermediate Division] (1927 - 1932)

1927         Unión (Caseros)
1928         Acassuso
1929         Gimnasia y Esgrima de Lanús
1930         La Paternal
1931   AAF   25 de Mayo
       LAF    (not played)
1932   AAF   Sportivo Alsina
       LAF    (not played)

Tercera División [Third Division] (1933 - 1949)

1933   AAF   Sportivo Alsina III
       LAF    (not played)
1934   AAF   Excursionistas III
       LAF    (not played)
1935         Progresista
1936         Sportivo Alsina
1937         Sportivo Acassuso
1938         Los Andes (Lomas de Zamora)
1939         Boulogne
1940         Nueva Chicago
1941         Sportivo Alsina
1942         Atlético Estudiantes
1943         El Porvenir  
1944         Barracas Central
1945         Argentino de Quilmes
1946         All Boys  
1947         Colegiales 
1948         Barracas Central
1949         San Telmo

Primera División Amateur [Amateur Fist Division] (1950 - 1961)

1950         All Boys
1951         Tiro Federal (Rosario)
1952         Central Córdoba (Rosario)
1953         Defensores de Belgrano
1954         El Porvenir
1955         Colegiales
1956         San Telmo
1957         Los Andes (Lomas de Zamora)
1958         Defensores de Belgrano 
1959         Deportivo Morón
1960         Deportivo Español
1961         San Telmo

Segunda División [Second Division] (1962 - 1973)

1962         Deportivo Italiano
1963         Villa Dálmine
1964         Arsenal de Sarandí
1965         Almirante Brown
1966         Atlético Estudiantes
1967          (not awarded)
1968         Comunicaciones
1969         Comunicaciones
1970         Talleres (Remedios de Escalada)
1971         Almagro
1972         Defensores de Belgrano
1973         Central Córdoba (Rosario)

Primera División C [First Division C] (1974 - 1985)

1974         Deportivo Italiano
1975         Villa Dálmine
1976         Deportivo Armenio
1977         Sarmiento (Junín)
1978         Talleres (Remedios de Escalada)
1979         Deportivo Español  
1980         Deportivo Morón
1981         Lanús
1982         Villa Dálmine
1983         Argentino (Rosario)
1984         San Miguel 
1985         Defensa y Justicia 

In 1986 a new national second level league was introduced. The "Primera B Metropolitana" continued as a third level league between "Nacional B" and "Primera División C".

Primera División B Metropolitana [Metropolitan First Division B] (1986/7 - ....)

1986/7       Quilmes
1987/8       Talleres (Remedios de Escalada)
1988/9       Villa Dálmine
1989/0       Deportivo Morón
1990/1       Central Córdoba (Rosario)
1991/2       Ituzaingó
1992/3       All Boys (Buenos Aires)
1993/4       Chacarita Juniors
1994/5       Atlanta
1995/6       Deportivo Italiano
1996/7       Defensa y Justicia
1997/8       El Porvenir
1998/9       Argentino (Rosario)
1999/0       Atlético Estudiantes
2000/1       Defensores de Belgrano
2001/2       Deportivo Español 
2002/3       Ferro Carril Oeste (Buenos Aires) 
2003/4       Sarmiento (Junín) 
2004/5       Tigre
2005/6       Platense
2006/7       Almirante Brown
2007/8       All Boys (Buenos Aires)
2008/9       Sportivo Italiano

About this document

Sources: [CIHF -], [Iwa -], [Ram -], [Yam -].

Prepared and maintained by Osvaldo José Gorgazzi for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Osvaldo José Gorgazzi (
Last updated: 24 Apr 2014

(C) Copyright Osvaldo José Gorgazzi and RSSSF 1998/2014
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.