England - FA Vase Cup Finals 1975-2003

The English FA Vase was created in 1974 in place of the defunct
FA Amateur Cup, contested since 1894. 

1974 was the year when the distinction between professional and
amateur clubs in England was abolished. Many clubs that have
hitherto participated in the Amateur Cup used to opportunity to
claim for themselves professional status and qualify for the
FA Trophy, although with the
introduction of the pyramid system in 1979 the FA restricted
FA Trophy eligibility to levels 5-8 of the Pyramid, which
returned many smaller clubs to the Vase.

The competition's format remained unchanged since the beginning,
with 128 teams at round 1 going through six rounds to produce
the semifinalists. The extra preliminary and preliminary rounds
were renamed qualifying round 1 and 2 beginning with 1995/96.
Until 1999 teams were given byes to preliminary and first rounds
based on their previous performances, and not on the league
they play in, like today.

The Vase is known for its high upredictability. So far it has
been won by 24 teams, 19 of them only winning it once. Only
Billericay Town have managed three wins, including two
consecutive ones, but they were all placed within four years.
Halesowen and Tiverton also managed to win it twice in a 
row, although each of them also lost a final once. Brigg Town
is the only other team with multiple wins that has not lost
a final game yet.


1975 Hoddesdon Town 2 Epsom & Ewell 1* 1976 Billericay Town 1 Stamford 0 1977 Billericay Town 1:2 Sheffield 1:1 1978 Newcastle Blue Star 2 Barton Rovers 1 1979 Billericay Town 4 Almondsbury Greenway 1 1980 Stamford 2 Guisborough Town 0 1981 Whickham 3 Willenhall Town 2* 1982 Forest Green Rovers 3 Rainham Miners Welfare 0 1983 VS Rugby 1 Halesowen Town 0 1984 Stansted 3 Stamford 2 1985 Halesowen Town 3 Fleetwood Town 1 1986 Halesowen Town 3 Southall 0 1987 St Helens Town 3 Warrington Town 2 1988 Colne Dynamoes 1 Emley 0* 1989 Tamworth 1:3 Sudbury Town 1:0 1990 Yeading 0:1 Bridlington Town 0:0* 1991 Guiseley 4:3 Gresley Rovers 4:1 1992 Wimborne Town 5 Guiseley 3 1993 Bridlington Town 1 Tiverton Town 0 1994 Diss Town 2 Taunton Town 1* 1995 Arlesey Town 2 Oxford City 1 1996 Brigg Town 3 Clitheroe 0 1997 Whitby Town 3 North Ferriby United 0 1998 Tiverton Town 1 Tow Law Town 0 1999 Tiverton Town 1 Bedlington Terriers 0 2000 Deal Town 1 Chippenham Town 0 2001 Taunton Town 2 Berkhamsted Town 1 2002 Whitley Bay 1 Tiptree United 0 2003 Brigg Town 2 AFC Sudbury 1 * after extra time


3  Billericay Town
2  Brigg Town, Halesowen Town, Stamford, Tiverton Town
1  Arlesey Town, Bridlington Town, Colne Dynamoes, Deal Town, Diss Town, 
   Forest Green Rovers, Guiseley, Hoddesdon Town, Newcastle Blue Star, 
   Stansted, St Helens Town, Tamworth, Taunton Town, VS Rugby, Whickham, 
   Whitby Town, Whitley Bay, Wimborne Town, Yeading

3  Billericay Town, Halesowen Town, Stamford, Tiverton Town
2  Bridlington Town, Brigg Town, Taunton Town
1  AFC Sudbury, Almondsbury Greenway, Arlesey Town, Barton Rovers, 
   Bedlington Terriers, Berkhamsted Town, Chippenham Town, Clitheroe, 
   Colne Dynamoes, Deal Town, Diss Town, Emley, Epsom & Ewell, Fleetwood Town, 
   Gresley Rovers, Guisborough Town, Guiseley, Hoddesdon Town, Newcastle 
   Blue Star, North Ferriby United, Oxford City, Rainworth MW, Sheffield, 
   Southall, Stansted, St Helens Town, Sudbury Town, Tamworth, Tiptree 
   United, Tow Law Town, VS Rugby, Warrington Town, Whickham, Whitby Town, 
   Whitley Bay, Willenhall Town, Wimborne Town, Yeading

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Gwidon S. Naskrent for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Gwidon S. Naskrent
Email: silvermane@gazeta.pl
Last updated: 17 Jan 2004

(c) Copyright Gwidon S. Naskrent 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.