England - List of Foundation Dates

1859    Wanderers FC London
1862    Notts County FC Nottingham
1865    Nottingham Forest FC
        Old Etonians London 
1867    Sheffield Wednesday FC
1868    Stoke City FC
1870    Rotherham United FC
1871    Reading FC
1872    Accrington FC
        Aston Villa FC Birmingham
1874    Bolton Wanderers FC  
        Macclesfield FC 
1875    Blackburn Rovers FC
        Birmingham City FC 
        Darwen FC 
1876    Middlesbrough FC
        Bradford City AFC 
        Port Vale FC 
1877    Wolverhampton Wanderers FC
        Crewe Alexandra FC 
        Blackburn Olympic FC 
1878    Manchester United FC
        Everton FC Liverpool 
        Grimsby Town FC 
1879    Sunderland AFC
        Preston North End FC 
        West Bromwich Albion FC 
        Fulham FC London 
        Doncaster Rovers FC 
        Matlock Town FC 
1880    Plymouth Argyle FC
        Trowbridge Town FC 
1881    Newcastle United FC
        Leyton Orient FC London 
        Hartlepool United FAC 
        Swindon Town FC 
        Watford FC 
        Southport FC 
1882    Tottenham Hotspur FC London
        Burnley FC 
1883    Coventry City FC
        Darlington FC 
1884    Derby County FC
        Leicester City FC 
        Lincoln City FC 
        Tranmere Rovers FC Birkenhead 
        Wycombe Wanderers FC 
1885    Luton Town FC
        Southampton FC 
        Queens Park Rangers FC London 
        Millwall FC London 
        Kingstonian FC Kingston-upon-Thames 
        Bury FC 
1886    Arsenal FC London
        Shrewsbury Town FC
        Glossop North End FC 
        Enfield FC London
1887    Manchester City FC
        Blackpool FC 
        Walsall FC 
        Ipswich Town FC 
1888    Barnet FC London
1889    Sheffield United FC
        Brentford FC London 
        Bath City FC 
        Crook Town FC 
        Gloucester City FC 
        Nuneaton Borough AFC 
        Wimbledon FC London 
1890    Bournemouth AFC
        Weymoth FC 
1891    Dover AFC
1892    Liverpool FC
        Cheltenham Town FC 
1893    Bristol Rovers FC
        Oxford United FC 
        Gillingham FC 
1894    Bristol City FC
        Hastings United FC  
1895    West Ham United FC London
        Yeovil Town FC 
1896    Margate FC
1897    Northampton Town FC
        Mansfield Town FC 
        Oldham Athletic AFC 
        Maidstone United FC 
1898    Portsmouth United FC
        Brighton and Hove Albion FC 
        Barnsley FC 
1899    Scunthorpe United FC
        Chesterfield FC 
1902    Norwich City FC
        Stockport County FC 
        Worcester City FC 
1903    Carlisle United FC
1904    Exeter City FC
        Hull City FC 
1905    Chelsea FC London
        Crystal Palace FC London
        Charlton AFC London 
1906    Southend United FC
1907    Rochdale FC
        Bradford Park Avenue FC 
1908    Huddersfield Town AFC
        Cambridge City FC 
        Hendon FC London
1911    Halifax Town FC
1912    Cambridge United FC
        Rugby Town AFC 
1919    Leeds United AFC
1921    Torquay United FC
1922    York City FC
1924    Hereford United FC
1926    Aldershot FC
1930    Ashfield Town FC
1933    Boston United FC
1934    Peterborough United FC
1937    Colchester United FC
1938    Chelmsford City FC
1946    Wingate and Finchley FC London
        Abingdon United FC 
1947    Corby Town FC
2001    Enfield Town FC London


About this document

Thanks to Pete Bradshaw for a correction

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 16 Jan 2009

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2005/09
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.