Falkland Islands 1892-1982


Falkland Island Volunteers (F.I. Volunteers; currently called
Falkland Islands Defence Force, FIDF) were formed and played 


Stanley Football Club apparently were formed around this year.
The club later changed name to Athletic Club.


A "Jubilee Club" was formed by local youngsters often playing 
the F.I. Volunteers in challenge matches.


After the start of World War II, the Second Battalion of the 
West Yorkshire Regiment came to the Falklands and a league
of 7 teams (apparently consisting of one local team (FIDF),
and 6 garrison sides) was formed.  The local side finished 6th.

After the West Yorkshire Regiment was withdrawn, a new league
with 6 teams was formed:
  The Service Corps I
  The Service Corps II
  Royal Scots I
  Royal Scots II
  Falkland Islands Defence Force (FIDF)
FIDF finished as runners-up.


The Falkland Islands Football League was formed, and the initial
league had 4 clubs:
  Hotspurs (Green & White Quarters)
  Stanley Dynamos (Yellow & Black stripes)
  Stanley Redsox (Blue & Red stripes) 
  Stanley United (White)

1947 champions: Stanley Redsox


The HMS Protector, a South Atlantic ice patrol ship, annually
arrived at the Falklands and a 5-match series for the "Shield"
was then organised.  Later the Protector was replaced by the
HMS Endurance who then entered the Shield series.


HMS Endurance won the Shield at the eve of the Argentine invasion.


list of champions

About this document

Source: http://www.fifl.co.fk/history.html

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 7 May 2010

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2009/10
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.