Kiribati 1999

[possibly Inter-Island Tournament or Independence Cup]

[from an article on Feb 10, 1999]

Bank of Kiribati (BOK), Betio Town Council (BTC), Teinainamo Urban Council (TUC)
  [all South Tarawa]
and representatives from the Outer Islands (Tabiteuea North, Abaiang,
  Abemama, Aranuka, Marakei, Butaritari, North Tarawa, Makin)

Grand Final [in Bairiki, South Tarawa]

BOK (Bank of Kiribati)   3-3 Abaiang    [halftime 2-1]
  [2x10 minutes of extra time played; it appears no goals were scored,
   but it is not clear who won the penalty shootout]

NB: island of Abaiang represented by team from the town (village?) Koinawa

Third and Fourth Place: Abemama, Marakei



list of champions

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 20 Mar 2014

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2001/14
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.