New Zealand 1918

Brown Shield, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football (there was no national club championship).

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.North Shore FC  
 3.Ponsonby AFC
 5.Wild Rose
 6.Devenport Presbyterian  


The league resumed after a two year break. 

The following clubs, who participated in the last championship, in 1915, did not enter a team:
Hospital, Corinthian, Diamond FC, Wanderers, Rovers and Swifts. YMCA 'B' also did not enter.

Porirua United, Marist, St David's and Institute Old Boys joined the league.


 1.Porirua United        9   8  2  1  28-13  18 *
 2.Marist Brothers       9   5  2  2  17- 8  12
 3.YMCA                  9   5  2  2  26-12  12
 4.St David's            9   3  1  3  11-19   7
 5.Thistle               9   2  1  6  13-19   5
 6.Institute Old Boys    9   0  0  9   8-32   0

* Porirua's record doesn't make sense.

The full table can also be found here.


Winner: Excelsior.  


Winner: Southern. 

"Minor" Associations:

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Waipukurau.


The league was stopped due to World War One.


The league was stopped due to World War One.



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial source: Capital Soccer

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com)
Last updated: 18 Apr 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.