Seychelles - List of Champions

The first tournament was organised in 1936 by Dr J.T. Bradley, the Challenge Cup. Afterwards (apparently first in 1941) a league tournament with 5 participating teams, consisting of 20 matches, was played. By 1955, the number of participants had grown to 9.
In the 1960s, Ascot dominated Seychelles' football.
In the 1970s, Rangers and Rovers took turns winning trophies.

Period from 1982 to 1993 described as time of regionalisation; in 1993 clubs were reintroduced, and the first 'full' season with club teams finished in 1995.

Known Champions
1976    Juventus Rangers
1977-78   not known
1979    St. Louis (Victoria)
1980    St. Louis (Victoria)
1981    St. Louis (Victoria)
time of regionalisation
1982    Mont Fleuri (Victoria)
1983    St. Louis (Victoria)
1984    Mont Fleuri (Victoria)
1985    St. Louis (Victoria)
1986    St. Louis (Victoria)
1987    St. Louis (Victoria)
1988    St. Louis (Victoria)
1989    St. Louis (Victoria)
1990    St. Louis (Victoria)
1991    St. Louis (Victoria)
1992    St. Louis (Victoria)
1993      no competition
classification league
1994    St. Louis (Victoria)
'reintroduction of clubs'
1995    Sunshine SC (Victoria)
1996    St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins)
1997    St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins)
1998    Red Star (Anse-aux-Pins)
1999    St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins) 
2000    St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins) 
2001    Red Star (Anse-aux-Pins)
2002    La Passe FC (La Passe) and St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins) [shared]
2003    St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins) 
2004    La Passe FC (La Passe) 
2005    La Passe FC (La Passe) 
2006    Anse Réunion FC (Anse Réunion)     
2007    St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins) 
2008    St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins) 
2009    La Passe FC (La Passe)  
2010    St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins) 
2011    St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins)
2012    St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins)
2013    Côte d'Or (Praslin)    
2014    St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins)
2015    St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins)
2016    Côte d'Or (Praslin)    

Number of Titles (37 (1 shared); since 1979)

13 St. Louis (Victoria)
   St. Michel United (Anse-aux-Pins) [1 shared]

 4 La Passe FC [1 shared; first champions outside of Mahé, in 2002]

 2 Côte d'Or (Praslin) [first ever club from Praslin to win the league, in 2013]
   Mont Fleuri (Victoria) 
   Red Star FC (Anse-aux-Pins) 
 1 Anse Réunion FC (Anse Réunion)      
   Sunshine SC (Victoria)

NB: at the end of 1993, the "grande équipe d'Anse Aux Pins" was split
    into 2 club teams, one of them Red Star (and the other presumably
    Saint Michel United);
    St. Louis and Sunshine merged into Saint Louis Suns United before
    the start of the 2007 season

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 9 Mar 2017

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 1998/2017
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.