Tanzania - List of Cup Winners

Cup tournaments held in colonial times included (around the 1940s): Higgynson Cup, Pall Mall Cup, Sunlight Cup (a national tournament for clubs from 8 different provinces, later renamed Taifa Cup), Janmohamed Cup.

Nyerere Cup (Mainland and Zanzibar)

1974    JKU (Zanzibar)               
1975    Young Africans FC (Dar-es-Salaam)    [aka Yanga]
1976    Rangers International (Dar-es-Salaam)
1977    KMKM (Zanzibar)
1978    Pan African SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1979    Pan African SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1980    Coastal Union (Tanga)
1981    Pan African SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1982    KMKM (Zanzibar)
1983    KMKM (Zanzibar)
1984    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1985    Miembeni SC (Zanzibar)
1986    Miembeni SC (Zanzibar)
1987    Miembeni SC (Zanzibar)
1988    Coastal Union (Tanga)
1989    Pamba FC (Mwanza)
1990    Small Simba SC (Zanzibar)
1991    Railways SC (Morogoro)
1992    Pamba FC (Mwanza)                2-1 Morogori Tumabaku
1993    Malindi SC (Zanzibar)
1994    Young Africans FC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1995    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1996    Sigara (Dar-es-Salaam)      
1997    Tanzania Stars (Dar-es-Salaam)   1-0 Mlandege (Zanzibar)
1998    Tanzania Stars (Dar-es-Salaam)   2-1 Prisons (Mbeya)
1999    Young Africans FC (Dar-es-Salaam)
2000    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)         1-0 Mtibwa Sugar
2001    Polisi (Zanzibar)                2-0 Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam)    
2002    JKT Ruvu Stars (Coast Region)    1-0 KMKM (Zanzibar)

NB: in many of the above years, in particular in the eighties, the runners-up
    of the championship play-offs qualified for the African Cup Winners Cup,
    but no separate cup competition was played.  It is not exactly clear
    for which years (before 1997) this applies.

Number of Wins (29)

 3 KMKM (Zanzibar)
   Miembeni SC (Zanzibar)
   Pan African SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
   Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
   Young Africans FC (Dar-es-Salaam) [aka Yanga]

 2 Coastal Union (Tanga)
   Pamba FC (Mwanza)
   Tanzania Stars (Dar-es-Salaam)

 1 JKT Ruvu Stars (Coast Region) 
   JKU (Zanzibar) [aka Jeshi]
   Malindi SC (Zanzibar)
   Polisi (Zanzibar)           
   Railways SC (Morogoro) [aka Reli]
   Rangers International (Dar-es-Salaam)
   Sigara (Dar-es-Salaam) [aka Kashimulo]
   Small Simba SC (Zanzibar)

FAT Cup (Mainland)

1967    Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam) 2-0 Liverpool
1974    Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam) 2-1 Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)         [aet]
1985    Maji Maji (Songea)   
1995    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1996    Sigara                           bt  Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam)
1997    Tanzania Stars (Dar-es-Salaam)
1998    Tanzania Stars (Dar-es-Salaam)   2-0 Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)                                               
1999    Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam)
2000    Mtibwa Sugar                     1-0 Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)
2001    Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam) 2-0 Moro United (Morogoro)
2002    JKT Ruvu Stars (Coast Region)    bt  Baker Rangers (Manzese)  

Taifa Cup

NB: previously known as Sunlight Cup; contested by teams representing regions

Incomplete records:

Year    Winners

1964    Coast
1965    Tanga
1966    Kilimanjaro
1967    Coast
1968    Coast
1969    Tanga
1970    Morogoro
1971    Kilimanjaro
1972    Coast
1973    Tanga
1974    Morogoro
1975    Dar es Salaam
1976    Dar es Salaam
1977    Dar es Salaam
1978    Kilimanjaro
1981    Dar es Salaam
1983    Dar es Salaam
1984    Mwanza
1985    Mwanza
1986    Dar es Salaam
1987    Dar es Salaam
1998    Dar es Salaam
1999-04   not held
2005    Mbeya                            2-1 Mtwara
2006/07 Dar es Salaam                    1-0 Coast
2008    Ilala                            5-0 Kinondoni
2009    Ilala                            1-0 Temeke
2010    Singida                          3-0 Lindi
2011    Mbeya                            1-0 Mwanza

Tusker Cup

Ed Year    Winners                              Runners-Up
 1 2001    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)         bt  Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam)
 2 2002    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)         4-1 Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam)
 3 2003    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)         1-0 Mtibwa Sugar (Morogoro)
 - 2004      cancelled
 4 2005    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)         2-0 Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam)

NB: while the first three editions were all-Tanzanian affairs, the fourth edition
    in 2005 included two guest teams (Tusker from Kenya and SC Villa from Uganda)
    and was followed by a truly international fifth edition in Kenya (which is not
    always included in the series); the above four editions and all editions from
    2006 onwards were held in Tanzania. 

 5 2005    Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)         1-0 Tusker (Nairobi)
 6 2006    Kagera Sugar (Bukoba)            2-1 Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)              [aet]
 7 2007    Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam) 1-0 Mtibwa Sugar (Morogoro)
 8 2008    Mtibwa Sugar (Morogoro)          1-0 URA (Kampala)
 9 2009    Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam) 2-1 Sofapaka (Nairobi)

Number of Wins (9, runners-up finishes between square brackets)

 5 [ 1] Simba SC (Dar-es-Salaam)

 2 [ 3] Young African FC (Dar-es-Salaam)

 1 [ 2] Mtibwa Sugar (Morogoro)
 1      Kagera Sugar (Bukoba)  

   [ 1] Sofapaka (Nairobi)
   [ 1] Tusker (Nairobi)
   [ 1] URA (Kampala)

NB: includes 2005 edition held in Kenya

About this document

With thanks to Dinant Abbink and Barry Baker

Prepared and maintained by Erlan Manaschev, Neil Morrison and Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Erlan Manaschev, Neil Morrison and Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 1 Oct 2015

(C) Copyright Erlan Manaschev, Neil Morrison, Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2003/15
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.