Copa de Uruguay 1996

Copa de Uruguay

[Played between the two Montevideo giants, and no other teams.  Consists of
 a Zona Norte (matches in Paysandu and Rivera) and a Zona Sur (matches in
 Maldonado and Montevideo), for the first time in 1996.]

Zona Norte

August 24, 1996

First Final (in Paysandu)

Peñarol 1 (1) - Nacional 1 (0)   [1-0 pen.]

Cancha: Estadio Artigas (Paysandu)
Jueces: Julio Matto, Héctor Bonora y Daniel Lambach

Peñarol: Martínez, Gutiérrez, Tais, De Souza, Lima, Soca (78' Adinolfi),
Rehermann (90' Baltierra), Rotundo, Bengoechea; González (90' Pacheco),
Sosa (90' Garcia)

Nacional: Domínguez, Jara (78' Badell), Cabrera, Silva, Morsn, Tito
(76' Puglia), Abeijon, Barilko, Parodi, Correa (95' Pertusatti),  Fernandez

Goles: 21' Moran (N), 60' A. Gonzalez (P)

Definicion shot gol: Badell (N) afuera, Bengoechea (P) gol, Parodi (N)
atajado, Rotundo (P) atajado, S. Fernandez (N) afuera, García (P)
atajado, Pertusatti (N) afuera, Baltierra (P) paso los 8 segundos y Moran
(N) atajado

August 29

Second Final (in Rivera)

Peñarol 3-2 Nacional

Peñarol wins zona Norte.  Had Nacional won the second final, there
would have been a shootout to determine the overall winner.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by David Gerardo Keszenman Pereyra for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: David Gerardo Keszenman Pereyra (
Last updated: 30 Jul 1999

(C) Copyright David Gerardo Keszenman Pereyra and RSSSF 1999
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.