South Africa - Makana FA (Robben Island)

The Makana FA organised a league between the prisoners on Robben Island between 1969/70 and 1972/73. In 2007, the Makana FA was awarded honorary FIFA membership (as first ever association).
The league comprised nine clubs which each entered a team in three separate divisions.


1969/70 Manong
1970/71   not known
1971/72   not known
1972/73   not known


Participating teams (club colors);

Manong          (maroon/gold)
Gunners         (black/white)
Hotspurs        (green/white)
Black Eagles    (navy blue/sky blue)
Ditshitshidi    (maroon/white)
Rangers         (royal blue/gold)
Dynamo          (maroon/black)
Bucks           (black/gold)
Mphatlalatsane  (green/gold)
A Division

Top Final Table:
B Division

Winners: Gunners
C Division

No details known

champions of South Africa

About this document

Source: Michael Okeowo

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 29 Jun 2012

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2012
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.