Brazil - List of Second and Third Division Champions

Second Division Champions

1971 - Villa Nova Atlético Clube (Nova Lima-MG)
1972 - Sampaio Corrêa Futebol Clube (São Luís-MA)

Because there was no performance-based criterion defining the teams in 
the first level there was no promotion or relegation.  Between 1973 and 
1979 teams were invited to play at the 1st level based mainly on political 
criteria, and no 2nd division was disputed.

1980 - Londrina Esporte Clube (Londrina)
1981 - Guarani Futebol Clube (Campinas)
1982 - Campo Grande Atlético Clube (Rio de Janeiro)
1983 - Clube Atlético Juventus (São Paulo)
1984 - Uberlândia Esporte Clube (Uberlândia)
1985 - Tuna Luso Brasileira (Belém)
1986 -   not disputed
1987 -   not disputed [*]
1988 - Associação Atlética Internacional (Limeira)
1989 - Clube Atlético Bragantino (Bragança Paulista)
1990 - Sport Club Recife (Recife)
1991 - Paysandu Sport Club (Belém)
1992 - Paraná Clube (Curitiba)
1993 -   not disputed
1994 - Esporte Clube Juventude (Caxias do Sul)
1995 - Clube Atlético Paranaense (Curitiba)
1996 - União São João Esporte Clube (Araras)
1997 - América Futebol Clube (Belo Horizonte)
1998 - SE Gama (Gama, DF)
1999 - Goiás Esporte Clube (Goiânia)
2000 -   not disputed [**]
2001 - Paysandu Sport Club (Belém)
2002 - Criciúma Esporte Clube (Criciúma) 
2003 - Sociedade Esportiva Palmeiras (São Paulo)
2004 - Brasiliense Futebol Clube (Brasília)  
2005 - Grêmio FBPA (Porto Alegre)  
2006 - Clube Atlético Mineiro (Belo Horizonte)
2007 - Coritiba Futebol Clube (Curitiba) 
2008 - Sport Club Corinthians (São Paulo)
2009 - Clube de Regatas Vasco da Gama (Rio de Janeiro)
2010 - Coritiba Futebol Clube (Curitiba) 
2011 - Associação Portuguesa de Desportos (São Paulo-SP)
2012 - Goiás Esporte Clube (Goiânia)
2013 - Sociedade Esportiva Palmeiras (São Paulo)
2014 - Joinville Esporte Clube (Joinville, Santa Catarina)

For more information see the second and third division history.


 2 Coritiba, Goiás, Palmeiras, Paysandu
 1 América-MG, Atlético-MG, Atlético-PR, Bragantino, Brasiliense, Campo Grande,
   Corinthians, Criciúma, Gama, Grêmio, Guarani, Internacional-SP, Joinville,
   Juventude, Juventus, Londrina, Paraná, Portuguesa, Sampaio Corrêa,
   Sport Recife, Tuna Luso, Uberlândia, União São João, Vasco da Gama, Villa Nova

 9 São Paulo
 5 Paraná
 4 Minas Gerais
 3 Pará
 2 Distrito Federal, Goiás, Rio de Janeiro, Rio Grande do Sul, Santa Catarina
 1 Maranhão, Pernambuco

Third Division Champions

1980 - Olaria Atlético Clube (Rio de Janeiro)
1981 -   not disputed
1982 -   not disputed
1983 -   not disputed
1984 -   not disputed
1985 -   not disputed
1986 -   not disputed
1987 -   not disputed  [*]
1988 - União São João Esporte Clube (Araras)
1989 -   not disputed
1990 - Atlético Clube Goianiense (Goiânia)
1991 -   not disputed
1992 - Tuna Luso Brasileira (Belém)
1993 -   not disputed
1994 - Gremio Esportivo Novorizontino (Novo Horizonte)
1995 - Esporte Clube XV de Novembro (Piracicaba)
1996 - Vila Nova Futebol Clube (Goiânia)
1997 - Sampaio Corrêa Futebol Clube (São Luís-MA)
1998 - Avaí FC (Florianópolis, SC)
1999 - Fluminense Futebol Clube (Rio de Janeiro) 
2000 -   not disputed [**]
2001 - Etti Jundiaí Futebol Ltda. (Jundiaí)
2002 - Brasiliense Futebol Clube (Brasília)
2003 - Ituano Futebol Clube (Itu)
2004 - União Agrícola Barbarense (SP)
2005 - Clube do Remo (Belém)
2006 - Criciúma Esporte Clube (Criciúma) 
2007 - CA Bragantino (Bragança Paulista-SP)
2008 - Atlético Goiâs (Goiânia)
2009 - América Futebol Clube (Belo Horizonte)
2010 - ABC Futebol Clube (Natal)
2011 - Joinville Esporte Clube (Joinville-SC)
2012 - Oeste Futebol Clube (Itápolis-SP)
2013 - Santa Cruz Futebol Clube (Recife, Pernambuco)
2014 - Macaé Esporte Futebol Clube (Macaé-RJ)



 8 São Paulo
 3 Goiás, Rio de Janeiro, Santa Catarina
 2 Pará
 1 Belo Horizonte, Distrito Federal, Maranhão, Pernambuco, Rio Grande do Norte

[*] Next to the Green and Yellow Modules (see the file on Brazilian champions,
    a Blue and a White Module were disputed, the first by the southernmost,
    the second by the northernmost teams.  These can be considered the
    the third level competitions in 1987.  The winners were Americano (Campos)
    in the Blue Module and Operário (Campo Grande) in the White Module.
    Likewise, one can consider the two winners of the Yellow Module,
    Guarani Futebol Clube (Campinas) and Sport Club Recife (Recife), as
    second division champions of 1987.

[**] Paraná Clube won the Yellow Module, equivalent to the 2nd level and Clube 
     Malutrom won the White/Blue Module, equivalent to the 3rd level.  These 
     however are not official titles.
     See the Copa João Havelange file for additional informations.

Paysandu are the only club to have won the 2nd level championship twice (in 1991 and 2001), and no club have won the 3rd level championship more than once (unless one considers Sport Recife and Guarani 2nd division champions (Yellow Module) in 1987 or Paraná Clube 2nd division champions (Yellow Module) in 2000).

Tuna Luso Brasileira, União São João and Sampaio Corrêa are the only teams to have been both second and third division champions.

Belém is the only city to have claimed the second level championship three times, Curitiba are the only city to which it has gone twice.

Rio de Janeiro and Goiânia are the only cities to which the third division championship has gone twice.

Atlético-PR, Atlético-MG, Corinthians, Grêmio, Guarani, Palmeiras and Vasco da Gama are the only clubs to have won both the first and second division championships.

Fluminense is the only club to have won both the first and third division championships.

Tuna Luso Brasileira, União São João, Sampaio Corrêa, Brasiliense, Criciúma, América-MG and Joinville are the only teams to have been both second and third division champions.

For more information see the second and third division history.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Julio Bovi Diogo and Ricardo Pontes for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Julio Bovi Diogo ( and Ricardo Pontes
Last updated: 13 May 2015

(C) Copyright Julio Bovi Diogo, Ricardo Pontes and RSSSF 1996/2015
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.