(West) Germany - List of Second Level Champions

Oberliga Berlin 1945-1963
Oberliga Nord 1945-1963
Oberliga Süd 1945-1963
Oberliga Südwest 1945-1963
Oberliga Südwest Süd 1945-1950
Oberliga West 1945-1963

Regionalliga Nord 1963-1974 (2nd level)
Regionalliga Süd 1963-1974 (2nd level)
Regionalliga West 1963-1974 (2nd level)

Regionalliga champions 1963-1974

          Nord                          Süd                           West
                         Berlin                        Südwest

1963/64   FC Sankt Pauli                Hessen Kassel                 TSV Alemannia Aachen
                         Tasmania 1900 Berlin          VfB Borussia Neunkirchen

1964/65   FC Holstein Kiel              FC Bayern München             VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach
                         Tennis Borussia Berlin        1.FC Saarbrücken

1965/66   FC Sankt Pauli                FC Schweinfurt 05             Fortuna Düsseldorf    
                         Hertha BSC                    FK Pirmasens 

1966/67   Arminia Hannover              Offenbacher FC Kickers        TSV Alemannia Aachen
                         Hertha BSC                    VfB Borussia Neunkirchen

1967/68   Arminia Hannover              Bayern Hof                    TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen
                         Hertha BSC                    SV Alsenborn

1968/69   VfL Osnabrück                 Karlsruher SC                 Rot-Weiß Oberhausen
                         Hertha 03 Zehlendorf          SV Alsenborn

1969/70   VfL Osnabrück                 Offenbacher FC Kickers        VfL Bochum
                         Hertha 03 Zehlendorf          SV Alsenborn

1970/71   VfL Osnabrück                 1.FC Nürnberg                 VfL Bochum
                         Tasmania 1900 Berlin          VfB Borussia Neunkirchen

1971/72   FC Sankt Pauli                Offenbacher FC Kickers        Wuppertaler SV
                         Wacker 04 Berlin              VfB Borussia Neunkirchen

1972/73   FC Sankt Pauli                SV Darmstadt 98               SC Rot-Weiß Essen
                         Blau-Weiß 90 Berlin           FSV Mainz 05

1973/74   Braunschweiger TSV Eintracht  FC Augsburg                   Wattenscheid 09
                         Tennis Borussia Berlin        VfB Borussia Neunkirchen

NB: promotion was decided in a summer playoff between the top-2 teams of all
    5 sections.  These 10 clubs were divided in two groups, and the winners of
    each group were promoted.  The promoted teams 1963-74:

1963/64   Hannoverscher SV 96           VfB Borussia Neunkirchen
1964/65   FC Bayern München             VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach
1965/66   Fortuna Düsseldorf            SC Rot-Weiß Essen
1966/67   VfB Borussia Neunkirchen      TSV Alemannia Aachen
1967/68   Offenbacher FC Kickers        Hertha BSC
1968/69   Rot-Weiß Oberhausen           SC Rot-Weiß Essen
1969/70   DSC Arminia Bielefeld         Offenbacher FC Kickers 
1970/71   VfL Bochum                    Fortuna Düsseldorf    
1971/72   Wuppertaler SV                Offenbacher FC Kickers 
1972/73   SC Fortuna Köln               SC Rot-Weiß Essen
1973/74   Braunschweiger TSV Eintracht  Tennis Borussia Berlin   

2. Bundesliga champions (2 groups) 1974-1981

          Nord                          Süd                          
1974/75   Hannoverscher SV 96           Karlsruher SC  
1975/76   Tennis Borussia Berlin        1.FC Saarbrücken
1976/77   FC Sankt Pauli                VfB Stuttgart
1977/78   DSC Arminia Bielefeld         SV Darmstadt 98    
1978/79   TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen       TSV 1860 München
1979/80   DSC Arminia Bielefeld         1.FC Nürnberg
1980/81   SV Werder Bremen              SV Darmstadt 98

NB: both group winners were promoted; in addition the two runners-up played
    off for a third promotion place.  The third promoted team 1974-81:

          Nord                          Süd
1974/75   FC Bayer 05 Uerdingen
1975/76   BV 09 Borussia Dortmund
1976/77                                 TSV 1860 München
1977/78                                 1.FC Nürnberg
1978/79   FC Bayer 05 Uerdingen
1979/80                                 Karlsruher SC
1980/81   Braunschweiger TSV Eintracht

2. Bundesliga champions 1981-1991

1981/82   FC Schalke 04
1982/83   SV Waldhof Mannheim
1983/84   Karlsruher SC
1984/85   1.FC Nürnberg
1985/86   FC Homburg/Saar
1986/87   Hannoverscher SV 96          
1987/88   Stuttgarter Kickers
1988/89   Fortuna Düsseldorf
1989/90   Hertha BSC 
1990/91   FC Schalke 04

NB: the runners-up were promoted automatically as well, the third-placed team
    played off against the 16th team in the top division.  The following teams
    also earned promotion in addition to the champions 1981-1991:

          runners-up                    promoted after playoff
1981/82   Hertha BSC
1982/83   Offenbacher FC Kickers        FC Bayer 05 Uerdingen
1983/84   FC Schalke 04
1984/85   Hannoverscher SV 96           1.FC Saarbrücken
1985/86   Blau-Weiß 90 Berlin
1986/87   Karslruher SC
1987/88   FC Sankt Pauli
1988/89   FC Homburg/Saar
1989/90   Wattenscheid 09
1990/91   MSV Duisburg                  Stuttgarter Kickers

2. Bundesliga champions (2 groups) 1991-1992

          Nord                          Süd
1991/92   FC Bayer 05 Uerdingen         1.FC Saarbrücken

2. Bundesliga champions 1992-

1992/93   SC Freiburg
1993/94   VfL Bochum
1994/95   FC Hansa Rostock
1995/96   VfL Bochum
1996/97   1.FC Kaiserslautern
1997/98   Eintracht Frankfurt
1998/99   DSC Arminia Bielefeld   
1999/00   1.FC Köln
2000/01   1.FC Nürnberg
2001/02   Hannoverscher SV 96
2002/03   SC Freiburg
2003/04   1.FC Nürnberg
2004/05   1.FC Köln    
2005/06   VfL Bochum
2006/07   Karlsruher SC
2007/08   Borussia Mönchengladbach 
2008/09   SC Freiburg
2009/10   1.FC Kaiserslautern
2010/11   Hertha BSC
2011/12   SpVgg Greuther Fürth 
2012/13   Hertha BSC
2013/14   1.FC Köln    
2014/15   FC Ingolstadt 04

NB: the runners-up and third placed teams were promoted automatically 
    as well up to and including 2007/08; since 2008/09, the runners-up 
    were promoted automatically as well, the third-placed team played
    off against the 16th team in the top division.
    The following teams also earned promotion in addition to the champions:

          runners-up                    third
1992/93   MSV Duisburg                  VfB Leipzig
1993/94   FC Bayer 05 Uerdingen         TSV 1860 München
1994/95   FC Sankt Pauli                Fortuna Düsseldorf
1995/96   DSC Arminia Bielefeld         MSV Duisburg
1996/97   VfL Wolfsburg                 Hertha BSC
1997/98   SC Freiburg                   1.FC Nürnberg
1998/99   SpVgg. Unterhaching           SSV Ulm 1846
1999/00   VfL Bochum                    FC Energie Cottbus
2000/01   Borussia Mönchengladbach      FC Sankt Pauli
2001/02   DSC Arminia Bielefeld         VfL Bochum
2002/03   1.FC Köln                     Eintracht Frankfurt
2003/04   DSC Arminia Bielefeld         FSV Mainz 05
2004/05   MSV Duisburg                  Eintracht Frankfurt
2005/06   TSV Alemannia Aachen          FC Energie Cottbus
2006/07   FC Hansa Rostock              MSV Duisburg
2007/08   TSG Hoffenheim                1.FC Köln
2008/09   SC Freiburg                   FSV Mainz 05 (after playoff)
2009/10   FC Sankt Pauli     
2010/11   FC Augsburg
2011/12   Eintracht Frankfurt           Fortuna Düsseldorf (after playoff)
2012/13   Braunschweiger TSV Eintracht
2013/14   SC Paderborn 07
2014/15   SV Darmstadt 98

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans and Frank Ballesteros for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Karel Stokkermans and Frank Ballesteros
Last updated: 4 Jun 2015

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans, Frank Ballesteros and RSSSF 2000/15
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.