Rhodesia and Nyasaland 1961

Professional Rhodesia and Nyasaland Football League 1961

Inaugural Matches [Apr 9; involving South African clubs]
Salisbury XI            bt  Nyasa United        [Glamis Ground, Salisbury]
City of Salisbury       2-8 Durban City         [Glamis Ground, Salisbury]
Bulawayo XI             0-1 Highland Park       [Showgrounds, Bulawayo]

NB: Salisbury XI were a combined side of Salisbury United and City of Salisbury;
    Bulawayo XI were a combined side of Bulawayo City and Bulawayo United;
    there also was an opening match at Scrivener Stadium, Kitwe

Round 1 [Apr 16?]
City of Lusaka          2-5 Salisbury United    [Queensmead Ground, Lusaka]

Round 2 [Apr 23?]
Nyasa United (Blantyre) 0-1 City of Lusaka      [Langeley Stadium, Blantyre]

NB: Nyasa United withdrew on Apr 29, 1961
Championship abandoned. 
NB: Rhodesia and Nyasaland comprised the territories of current
    Malawi (Nyasaland), Zambia (Northern Rhodesia) and Zimbabwe
    (Southern Rhodesia).

1952 (Zambia).

1962 (Rhodesia).

1962 (Zambia).

1987 (Malawi).

list of champions (Malawi).

list of champions (Rhodesia/Zimbabwe).

list of champions (Zambia).

About this document

Source: [Liw 84]

Prepared and maintained by Hans Schöggl for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Hans Schöggl
Last updated: 31 May 2012

(C) Copyright Hans Schöggl and RSSSF 2007/12
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.