Spain - List of Champions of Norte

From 1902 to 1913, the Basque teams had been playing, and dominating, the Spanish Cup without playing previous official tournaments.

The "Federación Norte de Futbol" was founded in 1913, with the teams of the Basque Country (provinces of Vizcaya, Guipúzcoa and Alava), Navarra, and Santander, and organized the "Campeonato Norte". In 1918 it was divided in two separate Associations:

1)"Federación Vizcaina de Fútbol" (initially with clubs from Vizcaya, Alava and Santander)

2)"Federación Guipuzcoana de Fútbol" (over Guipúzcoa, Navarra, Logroño and, from 1938, Alava).

Both organized a Regional Championship.

In 1923 the clubs from Santander founded the "Federación Cántabra de Fútbol" and organized the "Campeonato de Cantabria".

In 1928 the "Federación Navarra de Fútbol" was founded, but their teams usually played in the Campeonato de Guipúzcoa, and only twice a separate championship of Navarra was organized.

All these championships were part of the qualifying phase of the Spanish Cup.

Winners Campeonato Norte

Year           Champions
1913-14        Athletic Club (Bilbao)
1914-15        Athletic Club (Bilbao)
1915-16        Athletic Club (Bilbao)
1916-17        C. Arenas (Guecho)
1917-18        Real Unión Club (Irún)

Number of wins

 3 Athletic Club (Bilbao)

 1 C. Arenas (Guecho)
   Real Unión Club (Irún)

Copa Vasco, Campeonatos de Vizcaya, Guipúzcoa y Navarra

Year     Copa Vasca     Vizcaya            Guipuzcoa            Navarra
1918-19                 C. Arenas(Guecho)  Real Sociedad (SS)
1919-20                 Athletic Club      Real Unión (Irún)
1920-21                 Athletic Club      Real Unión (Irún)
1921-22                 C. Arenas(Guecho)  Real Unión (Irún)
1922-23                 Athletic Club      Real Sociedad (SS)
1923-24                 Athletic Club      Real Unión (Irún)
1924-25                 Athletic Club      Real Sociedad (SS)
1925-26                 Athletic Club      Real Unión (Irún)
1926-27                 C. Arenas(Guecho)  Real Sociedad (SS)
1927-28                 Athletic Club      Real Unión (Irún)
1928-29                 Athletic Club      Real Sociedad (SS)   CA Osasuna
1929-30                 CD Alavés(Vitoria) Real Unión (Irún)
1930-31                 Athletic Club      Real Unión (Irún)
1931-32                 Athletic Club      CD Logroño
1932-33                 Athletic Club      Donostia FC    [1] 
1933-34                 Athletic Club      CD Logroño     [1]
1934-35   Athletic C. [2]
1935-36   C. Arenas   [2]
1936-37        not played due to Spanish Civil War
1937-38   [3]  not played due to Spanish Civil War
1938-39                 Bilbao Athletic    CD Alavés(Vitoria)   CA Osasuna
1939-40                 Athletic Club      CA Osasuna     [1]

[1] In the seasons 1932-33, 1933-34 and 1939-40, the championship of Guipúzcoa
    also had teams from Aragon entering; in those years it was called 
    "Campeonato de Guipúzcoa - Navarra - Aragón"
[2] In the seasons 1934-35 and 1935-36 teams from all three Federaciones joined     to play for the "Copa Vasca". Only CD Logroño didn't inscribe, and played 
    in the "Campeonato Castilla-Aragon".
[3] In the spring of 1938, with the war having moved to far away parts of the
    country, teams of this zone played an unofficial tournament, called "Copa 
    Brigadas de Navarra". CD Alavés was the champion.

Number of wins

Copa Vasca

 1 Athletic Club (Bilbao)
   C. Arenas (Guecho)

Campeonato de Vizcaya

14 Athletic Club (Bilbao)

 3 C. Arenas (Guecho)

 1 CD Alavés (Vitoria)

Campeonato de Guipúzcoa

 9 Real Unión Club (Irún)

 6 Real Sociedad (San Sebastián) (includes Donostia FC)

 1 CD Alavés (Vitoria)
   CD Logroño
   CA Osasuna (Pamplona)

Campeonato de Navarra

 2 CA Osasuna (Pamplona)

Name changes

Athletic Club was called Bilbao Athletic during the season 1938-39.
Real Sociedad (S.S.) changed the name to Donostia FC from 1931 to 1940.
Real Unión Club (Irún) was called Unión Club in the period 1931-1938.
CD Logroño was refounded as CD Logroñés in 1940.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by Carles Lozano Ferrer for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Carles Lozano Ferrer (
Last updated: 21 Jan 2000

(C) Copyright Carles Lozano Ferrer and RSSSF 2000
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.