Paramaribo Trip of British Guyana 1921

At the occasion of the traditional festivities around the birthday of Queen Wilhelmina (on August 31st), the S.V.B. (Surinaamsche Voetbalbond) invited the B.G.F.A. (British Guyana Football Association) for a visit to Paramaribo. The visitors were also reported as Demerara (and Surinam as Hollandsch/Dutch Guyana); it appears all squad members were from Georgetown clubs, just as all Surinam players were based in Paramaribo. The match on August 28th was the first official match for a representation of the S.V.B., which had been founded on October 1st, 1920.

28- 8 Paramaribo        Surinam          1-2 British Guyana   [HT: 1-1]
30- 8 Paramaribo        Olympia          2-4 British Guyana   [HT: 2-2]
 2- 9 Paramaribo        U.D.I.           1-7 British Guyana
 4- 9 Paramaribo        Zwaluwen         0-1 British Guyana

NB: Olympia and U.D.I. were club sides; Zwaluwen were a Surinam B-selection.

Match Details

28- 8 Surinam          1-2 British Guyana

S.V.B.:   W. Anijs (Blauw-Wit); Nijhoff (U.D.I.), N. Gerard (U.D.I.);
          M. Chehin (Olympia), L. de Noten (U.D.I.), W. Eggers (Excelsior);
          J.H Petersen (U.D.I.), J.S. de Freitas (Olympia), W. Amo (cap) (Olympia),
          A. Budel (Olympia), H. Slengaard (Excelsior)
B.G.F.A.: P. Gunning (Evertons); S. Haines (G.F.C.), S. King (Evertons);
          N. Phillips (G.F.C.), C.D. Young (A.S.C.), H. Nascimento (G.F.C.);
          T. McLean (A.S.C.), R.P. Young (cap) (S.A.C.), F. Phillips (G.F.C.),
          R. Johnson (A.S.C.), R. Pairaudeau (G.F.C.); initials King also listed 
          as J.J.; initial centre forward Phillips also as E.
referee: J. MacDonald (British Guyana); linesmen: J. Davis (British Guyana),
         A. Kraayenveld (Surinam); initials Davis also listed as L.S.
Goals: 19' Budel 1-0, 28' N.N. 1-1, 31' Johnson 1-2
Half-Time: 1-1 [played 2x30 minutes]
Note: at Patronaatsterrein.  

Paramaribo Trip Georgetown XI 1915

About this document

Main sources: De West, De revue der sporten

Prepared and maintained by Karel Stokkermans for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: Karel Stokkermans (
Last updated: 30 Jan 2014

(C) Copyright Karel Stokkermans and RSSSF 2013/14
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.