New Zealand 1924

Brown Shield, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):


 1.Harbour Board
   North Shore FC
   Ponsonby AFC
   Other participants not known	


 1.YMCA                 13  22p
 2.Thistle              13  17p
 3.Diamond FC           14  16p
 4.Hospital FC Porirua  12  15p
 5.Marist Brothers      11  14p
 6.Institute Old Boys   13   9p
 7.Waterside AFC        12   8p
 8.Karori               14   1p

The full table can be found here.

First B Division (2nd level)

Winners: Scottish Wanderers (undefeated; promoted to First A Division)


Winner: Sunnyside


Winner: Seacliff

"Minor" Associations:

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Whakatu


Winner: Athletic

South Canterbury

Winner: Albion Rovers


Winner: Corinthians


Winner: Kaponga


Winner: YMCA

Chatham Cup:

Association      Entries    Representative 
-----------      -------    -------------- 
North Island: 
Auckland            ?       Harbour Board
Wellington          ?       Wellington Marist 
South Island: 
Canterbury          ?       ? 
Otago               ?       Seacliff 

Athletic Park, Wellington
Harbour Board 3-1 Seacliff [aet]
 [Palmer, Margison, Heyes - Simmons] or
 [Palmer, Margison 2 - Simmons]
Harbour Board: Jack Batty, W. Mitchell, G.S. Brittain, J. Worthington,
R.I. Bell, Dan Jones, J.H. Tocker, Bill Palmer, H.M. Margison, Murray
Heyes, C. Drayton.
Seacliff: Charlie Rivers, George Anderson, Bill Murray, H . Cox, Alex
Waugh, Bill Rogers, Malcolm Macdougall, W. Simmons, Bill Hooper,
J. Baillie, Wattie Hanlin.
Referee: A. E. Wells (Wellington)



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial source: Capital Soccer

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 31 May 2012

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004/12
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.