New Zealand 1944

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, existed (though not played in 1944). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.Metro College
   North Shore United AFC 
   other participants not known


Boys Institute withdrew from the league before the start of the season.   
 1.Waterside AFC        12  21p
 2.Hospital FC Porirua  12  19p
 3.Stop Out             11  17p 
 4.Railways             13  15p
 5.Lower Hutt           13  10p
 6.Marist Brothers      12   9p
 7.Comrades             11   4p
 8.Technical Old Boys   14   3p

The full table can be found here.


Winner: Thistle


Winner: Mosgiel  

"Minor" Associations:

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Napier HSOB   


Winner: No competition 

South Canterbury

Winner: No competition


Winner: No competition


Winner: Old Boys


Winner: Rotowaro    


Winner: No competition 



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 9 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.