New Zealand 1953

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.Eastern Suburbs AFC
   North Shore United AFC
   other participants not known

 1.Marist Brothers OB   14  20p
 2.Stop Out             14  19p
 3.Petone AFC           14  15p [*]
 4.Seatoun AFC          14  17p  
 5.Hospital FC Porirua  14  12p
 6.Victoria Yniversity  14  11p
 7.Railways             14  11p
 8.Institute Old Boys   14   7p

* - It's not clear why Petone finished above Seatoun.

The full table can be found here.


Winner: Western 


Winner: Northern

"Minor" Associations:

Bay of Plenty

Winner: Mangakino United

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Hastings Wanderers  


Winner: Palmerston North United


Winner: Woodbourne


Winner: Otangarei United 

Poverty Bay

Winner: Eastern Union 

South Canterbury

Winner: Northern Hearts 


Winner: Brigadiers and Thistle [shared] 


Winner: City


Winner: Huntly Thistle      


Winner: Carterton 


Winner: New Settlers 

Chatham Cup:

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Auckland            ?       Eastern Suburbs
Waikato             ?       Huntly Thistle
Poverty Bay         ?       Eastern Union
Taranaki            ?       New Plymouth City
Hawke`s Bay         ?       Napier Rovers
Wanganui            ?       Wanganui Utd
Manawatu            ?       St Andrews
Wellington          ?       Seatoun
South Island:
Nelson              ?       Woodbourne (Marlborough)
Canterbury          ?       Riccarton
Otago               ?       Northern
Southland           ?       Invercargill Thistle

Basin Reserve, Wellington
Eastern Suburbs 4-3 Northern of Otago
 [King 2, Fleet, M Anderson - McFarlane 2, Boardman]

Eastern Suburbs: Peter Risbridge, Tim Cooper, Leo Twiname, Jack
Anderson, Jack Gisby, Bob McLuckie, Don Kendrick, Andy Wallace, Reg
King, Ken Fleet, Murray Anderson.
Northern: Jim Stephenson, Dick Naus, Bob McLean, Jim Swift, Wally
Meehan, Jim Johnston, Bill Boardman, Ivan Walsh, Bill Berry, Theo
Berben, Trevor McFarlane.

Referee: J.K. Wellwood (Wellington)



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 30 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.