New Zealand 1962

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

1st Rothman's Cup:

A tobacco company, Rothman's of Pall Mall, donated a trophy for the 1st inter-club series featuring the 
local champions from Auckland, Wellington, Canterbury and Otago. 

This was the first known national club championship and its winner could be considered the top club side 
in New Zealand. 


Auckland   - Eastern Suburbs 
Wellington - Northern 
Canterbury - Western 
Otago      - Northern 

Eastern Suburbs  2-2 4-2 Northern (W) 
Western          0-4 0-1 Northern (O) 

Eastern Suburbs  0-2 2-1 Northern (O) 
Northern won 3-2 on aggregate 

In addition to Rothman's Cup, Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.Eastern Suburbs AFC
   North Shore United AFC
   other participants not known


 1.Northern             10  16p
 2.Western Suburbs AFC  10  14p
 3.Diamond FC           10  12p
 4.Seatoun AFC          10   7p
 5.Miramar Rangers      10   7p
 6.Railways             10   4p

The full table can be found here.


Winner: Western


Winner: Northern

"Minor" Associations:

Bay of Plenty

Winner: Rangers 


Winner: Waimangaroa United  


Winner: Manurewa

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Napier Rovers       


Winner: Thistle 


Winner: Woodbourne  


Winner: Rangers  


Winner: Otangarei United       

Poverty Bay

Winner: Eastern Union 

South Canterbury

Winner: Thistle    


Winner: Invercargill Thistle 


Winner: Moturoa


Winner: Hamilton Technical OB       


Winner: Lansdowne United   


Winner: Wanganui Athletic   

West Coast

Winner: Runanga      

Chatham Cup:  

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Auckland            ?       North Shore
Waikato             ?       Hamilton Technical OB
Bay of Plenty       ?       Kahukura
Poverty Bay         ?       Riverina
Taranaki            ?       Moturoa
Hawke`s Bay         ?       Hastings City (a union of Utd and Wanderers)
Wanganui            ?       Wanganui Athletic
Manawatu            ?       St Andrews
Wellington          ?       Seatoun
South Island:
Nelson              ?       Rangers
Canterbury          ?       Western
Sth Canterbury      ?       Thistle
Otago               ?       Northern
Southland           ?       Invercargill Thistle

Basin Reserve, Wellington
Hamilton Technical OB 4-1 Northern
 [Paul Nevison 5, Trevor Jones 12, 36, Peter Feenstra (or Nevison) 52 - George Little 4]

Hamilton Technical OB: Mel Clarke, Tom Henderson, Frits Poelman, Ray
McLean, Arthur Leong, Charlie Caldwell, Klaas Poelman, Peter Feenstra,
Paul Nevison, Jon Dekkers, Trevor Jones.
Northern: Jim Stephenson, Alex Young, Trevor McFarlane, John Rae, Jim
Ferguson, John Little, Bill Berry, Duncan McVey, George Little, Roger
Kingsland, Phillip Little.

Referee: C. Dickie (Auckland)



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 30 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.