New Zealand 1964

The FA Trophy, for teams representing provinces, continued to be the premier 
award in domestic football.

There was no national club championship but Chatham Cup, a New Zealand FA Cup 
style competition, was played (see below). 

Provincial Leagues

"Major" Associations (listed from north to south):

 1.Blockhouse Bay
   North Shore United AFC
   Eastern Suburbs AFC
   Mt. Wellington AFC
   other participants not known	

 1.Diamond FC           18   8  8  2  52-27  24
 2.Northern             18  10  4  4  53-34  24 
 3.Stop Out             18  10  2  6  51-42  22 
 4.Waterside AFC        17   6  6  5  35-39  18
 5.Marist Brothers OB   17   6  5  6  36-41  17
 6.Western Suburbs AFC  17   4  5  8  35-46  13

Difference in goals for (262) to goals against (229), wins (44) and 
defeats (31) and games (105) and points (118).  
Obviously more teams participated.

The full table can also be found here.


Winner: Christchurch City 


Winner: Northern

"Minor" Associations:

Bay of Plenty

Winner: Kahukura 


Winner: Waimangaroa United  


Winner: Papatoetoe

Hawke's Bay

Winner: Napier Rovers       


Winner: Thistle 


Winner: Woodbourne  


Winner: Rangers  


Winner: Otangarei United       

Poverty Bay

Winner: Eastern Union 

South Canterbury

Winner: West End      


Winner: Invercargill Thistle 


Winner: Moturoa


Winner: Hamilton      


Winner: YMCA   


Winner: Wanganui United   

West Coast

Winner: Grey United        

Association      Entries    Representative
-----------      -------    --------------
North Island:
Northland           ?       Old Boys
Auckland            ?       North Shore, Mt Roskill
Franklin            ?       Papatoetoe
Waikato             ?       Claudelands Rovers
Bay of Plenty       ?       Kahukura
Poverty Bay         ?       Eastern Union
Taranaki            ?       Moturoa
Hawke`s Bay         ?       Napier Rovers
Wanganui            ?       Wanganui Utd
Manuwatu            ?       Thistle
Wellington          ?       Miramar Rangers
South Island:
Nelson              ?       Rangers
Canterbury          ?       Nomads
Nth Otago           ?       Oamaru
Otago               ?       KETCOB [aka Technical]
Southland           ?       Waihopai

Basin Reserve, Wellington 
Mt Roskill Auckland 3-1 Dunedin Technical OB 
 [Geoff Cozens 2, Ray Darby 24, 73* - Bill Porteous 80] 

* - This goal may have been scored by Cozens

Mt Roskill Auckland: Tony Cozens, Ian Loudon, Michael Blanchette, Matt 
Gilmour, John Kemp, Michael Squires, Geoff Cozens, David Blanchette, Ray 
Darby, Kevin Orre11, Bruce Leuschke 
Dunedin Technical OB: Blair Davidson, David Toner, Syd Duncan, John 
Kroon, Eric Smith, Brian Boomer, David Connor, Wene Parata, Bill 
Porteous, John Brown, John Paul 

Referee: T.J. Ward (Wellington)  



list of champions.

list of final tables.

all-time tables.

list of cup winners.

list of brown shield winners.

list of fa trophy winners.

About this document

Partial sources: Capital Soccer, [Smi 66], [Hil 91]

Prepared and maintained by Peter Kungler and Andre Zlotkowski for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Authors: Peter Kungler (peter dot kungler at roche dot com) and Andre Zlotkowski (
Last updated: 30 May 2004

(C) Copyright Peter Kungler, Andre Zlotkowski and RSSSF 2004
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All rights reserved.