Scottish League Challenge Cup Finals

Spring Cup 1975-76

About this document

Scottish League Cup Finals

The League Challenge Cup was introduced in 1990 as the B&Q Centenary Cup to celebrate the League's centenary. Only clubs in the Scottish Football League are eligible to take part in it. It was abandoned in 1998 due to lack of sponsorship, but was resurrected the following year when new sponsor were found when it became the Bell's Challenge Cup. Bell's sponsorship only lasted for two seasons and the competition is once again simply the Scottish League Challenge Cup.

1990-91   Dundee                   3  Ayr United               2  (after extra-time)
1991-92   Hamilton Academical      1  Ayr United               0
1992-93   Hamilton Academical      3  Morton                   2
1993-94   Falkirk                  3  St. Mirren               0
1994-95   Airdrieonians            3  Dundee                   2  (after extra-time)
1995-96   Stenhousemuir            0  Dundee United            0  (after extra-time, 5-4 pen)
1996-97   Stranraer                1  St. Johnstone            0
1997-98   Falkirk                  1  Queen of the South       0
1998-99     no competition
1999-00   Alloa Athletic           4  Inverness Caledonian Th  4  (after extra time, 5-4 pen)
2000-01   Airdrieonians            2  Livingston               2  (after extra time, 4-3 pen)
2001-02   Airdrieonians            2  Alloa Athletic           1
2002-03   Queen of the South       2  Brechin City             0
2003-04   Inverness Caledonian Th  2  Airdrie United           0
2004-05   Falkirk                  2  Ross County              1
2005-06   St. Mirren               2  Hamilton Academical      1
2006-07   Ross County              1  Clyde                    1  (after extra time, 5-4 pen)
2007-08   St. Johnstone            3  Dunfermline Athletic     2
2008-09   Airdrie United           2  Ross County              2  (after extra time, 5-4 pen)
2009-10   Dundee                   3  Inverness Caled. Thistle 2

Final venues
Fir Park, Motherwell                 1990-91, 1991-92, 1993-94, 1997-98
McDiarmid Park, Perth                1994-95, 1995-96, 2003-04
Love Street, Paisley                 1992-93
Broadwood Stadium, Cumbernauld       1996-97, 2000-03
Shyberry Excelsior Stadium, Airdrie  1999-00, 2005-06

Competition known as the B&Q Centenary Cup in 1990-91.
Competition known as the B&Q Cup from 1991-95.
Competition known as the League Challenge Cup from 1995-98.
Competition known as the Bell's Challenge Cup from 1999-2001.

Index | About

Summary 1990-2010 (19 Cups)

3   Airdrieonians, Falkirk
2   Hamilton Academical, Dundee
1   Stenhousemuir, Stranraer, Alloa Athletic, Queen of the South,
    Inverness Caledonian Thistle, St. Mirren, Ross County,
    St. Johnstone, Airdrie United

2   Ayr United, Ross County, Inverness Caledonian Thistle
1   Morton, St. Mirren, Dundee, Dundee United, St. Johnstone,
    Queen Of The South, Livingston, Alloa Athletic, Brechin City,
    Airdrie United, Hamilton Academical, Clyde, Dunfermline Athletic 

Final Appearances
3   Airdrieonians (without Airdrie United), Falkirk, Hamilton Academical,
    Ross County, Dundee, Inverness Caledonian Thistle
2   Ayr United, Alloa Athletic, Queen Of The South, St. Mirren,
    St. Johnstone, Airdrie United
1   Morton, Stenhousemuir, Dundee United, Stranraer, Livingston, Brechin City,
    Clyde, Dunfermline Athletic 

Index | Finals

Spring Cup 1975-76

In the first season following league reconstruction in 1975, clubs in the lower two division only met twice and thus played a total of 26 fixtures. These were completed by February and a supplemental competition, the Spring Cup, was played to make up the fixtures. A preliminary round was played in groups followed by a knock-out phase. The competition attracted little interest and lasted only one season. Thereafter clubs met 3 times per season in the league giving a total of 39 fixtures.

1976   Airdrieonians            4  Clydebank                2  (after extra-time)

Final played at Firhill Park, Glasgow.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by James M. Ross for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Author: James M. Ross
Last updated: 2 Dec 2009

Copyright © 1998,2009 James M. Ross and RSSSF
You are free to copy this document in whole or part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. All rights reserved.